RSS

11.10.10

10 Nov

I was looking at my calender today when I realized Thanksgiving is two weeks away. TWO WEEKS. How did this happen? I’m shocked. I’m EXCITED. This year Brian & I decided that we would just go to our own familys holiday activities instead of dealing with the hassle of scheduling time with each…. it’s such a pain driving up and down the road, having our family fight for the time they want, and having to eat two huge meals (this sounds great, twice the fun right? not when your eyes are bigger than your stomach like mine, and I end up miserable…) SO. anyways. I’ve decided I want to bring a dish- normally my family has their own things that they make, the same every year, so I thought I would try to find a side recipe that’s a little unique and different.  So thanks to Martha Stewart, I am thinking about these….
POTATO MUSHROOM PIE

Serves 10 to 12
* 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, plus more for dish
* 1 medium onion, cut into 1/2-inch dice
* 2 pounds assorted wild mushrooms, such as chanterelle, oyster, or black trumpet, coarsely chopped
* 1/4 cup dry white wine, such as Sauvignon Blanc
* 1 1/2 teaspoons coarse salt
* Freshly ground pepper
* 1 cup finely grated Gruyere cheese (about 4 ounces)
* 1 cup finely grated Parmesan cheese, about 3 1/2 ounces
* 2 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes, peeled and cut into 1/8-inch-thick rounds
* 1 tablespoon finely chopped thyme leaves
* 3/4 cup whole milk
* 1/2 cup heavy cream

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 13-by-9-inch baking dish; set aside. Melt butter in a large skillet over medium heat. Add onion; cook, stirring occasionally, until softened, about 5 minutes. Add half of the mushrooms; cook until they are slightly softened. Add remaining mushrooms; cook, stirring occasionally, until mushrooms have released their juices and most of the liquid has evaporated, 8 to 10 minutes. Add wine; cook, stirring occasionally, until liquid has evaporated, 3 to 5 minutes. Remove from heat. Season with salt and pepper.
2. Combine cheeses in a small bowl; set aside. Cover bottom of prepared dish with potato slices, slightly overlapping them. Sprinkle with half of the thyme and a pinch each of salt and pepper. Sprinkle with 1/3 of the cheese and half of the mushroom mixture. Repeat layering process, using all but 2 tablespoons cheese. Arrange remaining potato slices, slightly overlapping, around the edge of the dish. Stir together milk and cream in a bowl, and pour over top. At this point, dish can be refrigerated, covered, up to 1 day; let stand at room temperature 30 minutes before baking.
3. Cover loosely with foil, and bake until bubbling, about 1 hour. Remove foil, and sprinkle with reserved cheese. Bake until top is golden, 20 to 30 minutes more. Transfer dish to a wire rack; let cool 10 minutes before serving.

CREAMY CORN

Serves 4

* 1 box (10 ounces) frozen corn kernels
* 1/4 to 1/2 cup whole milk
* 3 ounces reduced-fat cream cheese, cut into pieces
* 2 tablespoons snipped fresh chives
* Coarse salt and ground pepper

Directions

1. In a medium saucepan, simmer corn and 1/4 cup milk over medium heat until corn is tender, 5 to 7 minutes. Remove from heat; stir in cream cheese and chives. Season with salt and pepper. If desired, adjust consistency with a little more milk.

ROASTED CAULIFLOWER WITH CHEDDAR

Serves 4

* 1 head cauliflower, cut into medium florets
* 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
* coarse salt and ground pepper
* 1 cup grated cheddar (4 ounces)

Directions

1. Preheat oven to 450 degrees. On a rimmed baking sheet, toss cauliflower with oil and season with salt and pepper. Cook until tender, about 20 minutes, tossing halfway through. Push cauliflower to center of sheet and top with grated cheddar. Return to oven and cook until cheese melts, about 2 minutes. Toss again before serving.

see more yummy recipes at Marthastewart.com

AND this is my 50th blog post btw 🙂 YAY

“I was 32 when I started cooking; up until then, I just ate.” – julia child

 
3 Comments

Posted by on November 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “11.10.10

  1. thypolarlife

    November 10, 2010 at 7:32 pm

    Congrats on #50! Th food looks yummy. I can’t imagine having to separate for Thanksgiving, that’s awful. I understand completely why you are doing it though. It does get easier though, I promise, and in a short time you’ll be in the position that I’m in. Everybody comes to me. That has it’s pros and its cons though. We don’t have to travel and its not a stressful decision on where to go and when, but I have to do all the shopping, cooking, cleaning, and preparing for the unexpected guest that always shows.

     
  2. Marcos Gonzales

    November 10, 2010 at 10:34 pm

    I guess it must be hard to be separated for a holiday like thanksgiving. Such things are never easy, though it is understandable. Still, if it is possible, one should be able to celebrate it all together. Hope you might be able to do that with Christmas and next years thanksgiving.

    Reading this blog late at night makes me hungry (Europe!) and I will actually get this recipe to check out by my mother to cook for sometime in the near future. I also love your passion for cooking and food, and your love to share it with all of us.

     
  3. notesfromrumbleycottage

    November 16, 2010 at 6:11 pm

    Those dishes do look yummy. I might have to try it on some other night, Thanksgiving is too steeped in other traditions. Congrats on your 50th!

     

Leave a comment