RSS

five for friday: bucket list

10 Dec

hello, happy friday dear friends!

So, every time it gets close to the end of the year, I always find my mind thinking about my list of goals (or bucket list) , and what I have accomplished, and what I want to work on the next year. I had joined 43things.com about a year ago, and it’s a great website to list 43 goals, and track your progress, as well as look up tips for other people that have completed the same goals. So, for this five for friday, I’m going to tell you about five goals that I completed, and next five for friday, 5 that I want to complete.

So, here we go…

1.write a letter to myself that I will open in five years.

Well, thank you futureme.org, once again. And actually, I looked on my account about a week ago, and I have 5 letters pending, this including my letter to myself in five years. And I have no recognition of writing these, or what I said. It really shows me how much I don’t remember. So anyways, I’m very excited to read that letter… 4 years from now…

2. Recycle more

When I lived in Portland, I never recycled. Maybe once, but it wasn’t really a habit of mine…. which is weird, considering they are so recycle friendly. But since brian and I moved in together a few years ago, it had been a goal of mine. It took some getting used to, but I can proudly say that we recycle. Cans, plastic, cardboard. We used to recycle glass, but we would have to collect it and then take it down to the recycling center, but seriously- that’s such a pain in the ass. We did that for several months, but now that we’ve moved we just throw it away. Which hey, its better than nothing (I think).

3. Get caught up on laundry.

HA. Okay, so I’ve actually done this twice now.. .once with the wonderful help of my friend Brandee, and once on my own before my grandma and aunt came to stay with us. But not so much since then. I’ll tell ya what- working at a dry cleaners, I touch clothes ALL freakin day long. So the last thing I want to do when I come home is laundry! It’s a pretty big problem. But at least I can say that not just once, but twice, I’ve actually had it ALL done. go me!

4. Have a garden.

And actually, it’s been a year since I’ve had a garden, but I plan on having one this coming year. We moved last year around the prime gardening time, so I just decided to skip it. But at our old house, we had a cute little ledge garden (really, it was on a cement ledge thing… really hard to explain.)  It was the most amazing thing to me when I realized that I LOVED to garden.  It was like, Hey, I’m a freakin gardener! who knew??? But it was pretty bitchin watching it grow, and getting all the fresh veggies.   I gave that goal five stars.

5. Read 50 books in a year.

And actually, I tried doing this goal for the first time 2 years ago, and I failed. SO I tried again this year, but added 5 books as a punishment (I’m silly I know) to myself. But basically this last year I kicked ass, and finished by August (I think- somewhere around then.) And I have only read 5 books since then because I’ve been super busy, but it’s my favorite goal I’ve ever finished. It was very rewarding, and I was so proud of myself when I finished that I even drug brian and Brandee and Nick out for a beer to celebrate. (which, you should always reward yourself for completing a goal, it’s deserved and makes it even more worth it.)

What goals have you completed that you are proud of?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 10, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “five for friday: bucket list

  1. thypolarlife

    December 10, 2010 at 5:44 pm

    Great post! I have my bucket list page on my blog so I’m sure you already know what I’ve completed. The things I’m most proud of would have to be taking pictures with my kids and taking the kids to a baseball game.

     

Leave a Reply

 
