RSS

five for friday: Halloween edition

29 Oct

So, in honor of Halloween, I thought I would tell you my top 5 things I love about this holiday…

1. scary movies
I must say that I love scary movies, but hate being scared. Does that make any sense? when watching the strangers, I got so scared that I insisted that we watch the movie with the lights on, or I wouldn’t watch it at all. Watch a scary movie by myself? Hell no. Paranormal activity scared me for 3 days. But I don’t mind cuddling on the couch, watching scary movies with Brian (an maybe with the lights on… not gunna lie). If I hadn’t put so much time sewing my dress for my costume I probably would have suggested that we do this saturday night instead of going downtown.

2. candy apples (or is caramel apples the correct term?)
I LOVE decorative apples- doesn’t matter if they are dipped in chocolate, the red candy coating, or caramel… seriously SOOO yummy. And I don’t even know if it’s really a “Halloween” type thing, but I always associate apples with halloween/fall…

3. carving pumpkins
Last year a whole bunch of us got together to carve pumpkins- we had the BEST time. And although I didn’t do one this year, it’s still one of my favorite parts of Halloween.

mine was the peace sign 🙂

4. Halloween parties
So normally every year, our friends travis & celeste always throw a big Halloween party. Celeste seriously goes all out- snacks, decorations, and even a prize for the best costume! We always have such a good time. This year they are taking a year off, so we decided to go downtown. But since high school we started going to Halloween parties, and ended up with crazy pictures and great memories. I also love seeing what great ideas everyone came up with.

Brian & I our first Halloween together- we were Bonnie & Clyde

5. corn maze
The corn maze is a pretty big fall activity here. There’s generally 1-2 different mazes in Boise, and they even offer the “scary” maze, where they have people waiting to jump out at you and try to make you scream. (they’re dressed up in crazy costumes- I normally stay away from this one, like I said, I’m a baby). When I was in middle school & high school we used to go every year… it’s been a few years since we’ve gone, but I’m sure next year I’ll try to drag Brian down there.

This was the maze that we went to two years ago- we got turned around in Obama’s side and ended up coming out through the entrance.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on October 29, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

5 responses to “five for friday: Halloween edition

  1. ASHLEIGH

    October 29, 2010 at 5:23 pm

    AHH MEMORIES!

    CANT WAIT TO SEE YOUR COSTUMES THIS YEAR!

    I HAVE 3 PUMPKINS TO CARVE STILL… I BETTER HURRY

     
  2. thypolarlife

    October 29, 2010 at 9:54 pm

    I love scary movies also but refuse to watch them alone. The strangers has to be in my top ten for sure.

     
  3. Marcos Gonzales

    October 29, 2010 at 10:52 pm

    Love the movies, love the corn maze and love the pumpkins. So another good top five on this friday if you ask me.

    I love to read all the halloween blogs being published today and this one is no exception to that fact. I can enjoy the pictures and movies that come with this holiday every year and I have to admit I like to make one of these pumpkins one day. Just for the idea to have participated in halloween as well. On the other hand Holland does not have a tradition on this point and so i am not going to participate in it. I will just stand on the sideline and have a good laugh about it.

     
  4. thoughtsappear

    November 2, 2010 at 12:33 pm

    I love scary movies! I don’t like candy apples, but I love looking at them. They look pretty!

     
  5. hannahkaty

    November 3, 2010 at 11:02 am

    One) I am petrified of the Strangers movie.. And Two) I loveee the Bonnie and Clyde costume. So original!

     

Leave a Reply

 
