RSS

five for friday

08 Oct

So, on one of the blogs I regularly check, I saw that this girl did a top 5 every week on random topics. The one for that day was “lost tv shows” … shows that aren’t on any more that she misses dearly.I loved the post on the lost shows. So I figured what a good topic for my first top 5. So here we go- 5 shows I spent SO many hours watching, that are no longer here…

5. Party of Five
I was in elementary school when this show first came out. It had a huge cast of famous actors… Matthew Fox, Scott Wolf, Neve Campbell, Lacey Chabert, Jennifer Love Hewitt, and Jeremy London. It was on for 6 years.

4. Dawsons Creek
The series was on from 1998-2003. I didn’t watch the show every week, but caught episodes during the summer, or on sick days. I do remember watching the very last episode, and I cried my eyes out. And I was very happy that Joey ended up with Pacey. I love Joshua Jackson… so much that  I have watched Fringe since the very first episode because he was in it. But I loved Dawson’s Creek- and currently own the first two seasons on DVD.

3. Freaks and Geeks
SO, this show was only one for one whole season. I was super bummed when they canceled it. Apparently, who wants to be a millionaire came out at the same time, and everyone must have been watching that instead. Well not me… And the cast- Seth Rogen, James Franco, Jason Segel, John Francis Daley, and Linda Cardellini. It was based off two groups of kids in high school in the 80’s. geekosystem.com put it best: “Like many cult shows, Freaks and Geeks is one of those things about which one says “you really have to watch it to get it”; suffice it to say that even though you’ve watched a zillion high school dramedies about misfits, this one is funnier and feels far more real (and yes, painfully awkward at times) than most.”

2. Mad About You
I can’t even describe to you how many freakin times I watched this show. It seems like a million. I own the first couple of season on DVD, and when I was in Portland with no cable I watched it over and over. I loved the Buchmans! Now, you can’t make fun of me. But this show made me laugh in every episode, and cry in some episodes. I was addicted. I wish they still showed it on tv… It was on for 7 wonderful seasons.

1. LOST

I know that a lot of people were really pissed at how this show ended. I was indifferent- and then I watched the last episode one more time and it made a little more sense to me. I thought this show was amazing. Brian and I watched the first 5 seasons on Netflix watch instantly. We would curl up on our futon in the spare bedroom and watch it for hours upon hours on his computer. “What should we do tonight?” he’d ask. “LOST.” I didn’t watch it for 6 years, but for 6+ months my spare time revolved around this show. We had lost marathons up until the very last show was on, and we were able to watch it live. So many crazy things happened in every episode; it continually blew my mind. brian was upset that so many of the questions didn’t get answered.. but common, that would have been impossible. But I would still recommend this show to anyone who hasn’t seen it.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “five for friday

  1. thypolarlife

    October 8, 2010 at 6:40 pm

    I use to be addicted to Party of Five and loved the show. It is definitely one of the greater lost shows.

     
  2. Marcos Gonzales

    October 9, 2010 at 9:01 am

    I’ve seen my fair share of these show, but none of them I ever spend hours on following. Still I pretty much miss Dawson’s Creek and Lost. Both good series I did like to watch on a rainy sunday afternoon.

     

Leave a Reply

 
