RSS

10.5.10

05 Oct

October is here, and I’m loving the weather in Boise right now. Its overcast, gray, and is supposed to rain, but hasn’t really been successful… maybe later today.  Which, if it does, I will welcome it with open arms.  Anyways, I know technically it’s fall, but last week it sure didn’t seem like it.  I have been wanting to get on the “goodbye summer post” bandwagon… but I have been so busy that I haven’t had time to upload all my pictures to my computer.  But this Saturday it’s supposed to be 73, which is still warm to me, so as long as I have a nice day still in there (next week is supposed to be nice as well, according to the weather channel) I think I’ll still try to squeeze that post in there. I also have seen a lot of “top 5” on other blogs, so I think I’m going to jump on that one too.  I’ll start on Friday.

Yesterday at work sucked, but I felt like the luckiest girl in the world coming home and being able to spend the afternoon with brian.  He took the afternoon off from work, and as soon as I walked through the door and saw him I had forgotten about everything that I had been fretting about all day.  We spent the afternoon watching friends, while I looked at cooking magazines.  I found a recipe for crab cakes and a creamy bow tie pasta that I HAD to make.  So we went over to winco and got some groceries that would last us throughout the week.  Both the crab cakes and pasta was wonderful.  When I get home I’ll type up the recipe, and all of you should try it, because it was really that good. Or at least we thought so…

I talked to my mom about school, she thinks because I don’t turn 24 until early Jan that I’ll have to wait until the summer semester to qualify for cheaper financial aid.  Which, deep down I figured as much, but it still bums be out.  I would be in school right now if I could, but I already am paying on ten grand for two semesters a few years ago, and I know it will be worth it to wait, but its still disappointing.  But I’m still going to apply to the academy of art online… and brian will apply to CWI, and hopefully this time next year we will have so much homework that we will cry, but will most definitely be worth it.

Wednesday I will be going to my sisters soccer game… She hasn’t played for about 5 years (the last game I went to cheer her on I was a senior in high school.) Now, I’m not really a sports fan by any means, but I’m excited to be supporting her and cheering her on.

And speaking of sports and my sister… Apparently Friday night at the high school my sister goes to (also the school I graduated from) there was a young man who streaked at Friday nights football game.  He got caught…. and I guess they are expelling him, and he also had a full ride scholarship or something, so it might jeopardize that.  I heard about this on the radio yesterday on the way to work, and they were talking about it again today.  I remember going to a football game in high school, sophomore year I think, and someone streaked.  It seemed like the funniest thing ever… I mean, it seems like a typical high school thing to me.  Saturday school, parties, football games, school pranks… but times have changed, and the rules have changed.  The laws have become more strict.  And I understand the severity of this, considering there are children that go to these football games… but, I feel bad for this guy.  He is still in high school, and I know he should practice being mature, preparing himself for the future… but at the same time you should be having fun. Making memories. Making mistakes.  This guy is a senior… and it could change the course of his life forever.  I’m not saying he doesn’t deserve a punishment.  But I think its a bit overkill… I’ve heard of punishments where they aren’t allowed to walk the line- I think that would be a little more fitting.  What do you think?

My wonderful friend Marcie is pregnant, and will have her baby in November.  (Its a boy, to be named Sam.) I told her that I wanted to make him a baby blanket.  With dreams that it would be baby Sams favorite ever, the one he would refuse to sleep without, and the one he would take everywhere, even drag it through the mud, I went to the fabric store and picked out what I needed.  Cutting all the squares was very tedious… and for the last couple weeks my moms had it at her house and has helped me sew all the squares together.  I have again… I wanted to put some decorative stitches with embroidery thread all over it.  I checked out a book from the library to help me. Well, I must be retarded because I haven’t managed to do a single stitch correctly.  Practice makes perfect I guess.

I was very excited to talk to my friend Paula yesterday, and we made plans to get some drinks after work next Tuesday.  I haven’t seen her for about a half a year, so it will be nice to catch up. This Thursday I will be going to my moms for a cut and color.  I’m excited for a change with my hair…. (oh, and now it’s raining.  <3)

 
3 Comments

Posted by on October 5, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “10.5.10

  1. thypolarlife

    October 5, 2010 at 5:19 pm

    This weather has been crazy. Last week did not seem like fall at all with all this heat. Yesterday we had scattered lightning and showers. today it has finally cooled off and should remain cool, or at least tolerable for the rest of the week.

    Its sad to read that someone is willing to throw a college scholarship away like that, especially when there are people like you who could use the assistance.

     
  2. Marcos Gonzales

    October 5, 2010 at 6:39 pm

    Sounds like you have still been busy last weekend. Even though you spend most of your time at home. Which is a good thing, right?

    I guess is sucks not being able to get back to school for the simple fact you would really like to. Hopefully it will be worth the wait until the summer semmester starts. Especially since it will help you progress through life better as you are already doing right now.

    Hope you are going to have fun with your friend tonight!

     
  3. ASHLEIGH

    October 6, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Hey Pretty lady!
    I like the X files idea! or the fisher man! lol and for the record they werent all bad!

    I have to see Sam’s Blanket! Im sure he will love love love it! I still need to find someone to make Connors … but I want to have his birthday and stuff stitched into it so I have some time.. ohh say 4 months

     

Leave a Reply

 
