RSS

Taco pizza

01 Oct

So while brian and I were in Pendleton we went to a cute little mom and pop pizza place.  I grabbed one of the menues on the way out, and when looking at it later, I noticed their taco pizza.  It said it had a bean sauce, seasoned meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and doritos.  It sounded so yummy that I decided I should try to make one myself…. I looked online and found a few taco recipes, but none of them quite fit, so I decided I would just do it on my own, and make it from what I thought they did on theirs.  Well, since I never got to try their pizza, I can’t compare them, but I must admit that it turned out pretty tasty, so I decided to put the recipe on here just in case you want to try it yourself….

Ingredients
Pre-made pizza dough (unless you decide to make it yourself… I used pre made from a local grocery store)
1 can of pizza sauce
1 can refried beans (I used fat free)
Shredded cheese
Nacho cheese doritos
Hamburger
Lettuce
Tomatoes

So my pizza dough said to roll it out, top it with goodies, and bake.  In a saucepan I heated the can of refried beans with the pizza sauce to create the sauce.  The hamburger I cooked with some special seasonings and added taco seasoning as well.  So I spread the sauce on, added hamburger, and cheese.  For the first pizza, we put the doritos on top of the cheese and baked it.  On the second pizza, I forgot to put them on before baking, so I didn’t add them until the very end , and I think it turned out fine as well…. so either way works.  Cook the dough for the amount of time the package says, take out and top with lettuce and tomato.  Next time I think I will add olives, and serve with sour cream and/or ranch.

I’m sure there are dozens of different combinations for this, but considering I’ve never had a taco pizza before, I think it turned out really well.

image

image

image

image

image

image

So while brian and I were in Pendleton we went to a cute little mom and pop pizza place.  I grabbed one of the menues on the way out, and when looking at it later, I noticed their taco pizza.  It said it had a bean sauce, seasoned meat, cheese, lettuce, tomato, and doritos.  It sounded so yummy that I decided I should try to make one myself…. I looked online and found a few taco recipes, but none of them quite fit, so I decided I would just do it on my own, and make it from what I thought they did on theirs.  Well, since I never got to try their pizza, I can’t compare them, but I must admit that it turned out pretty tasty, so I decided to put the recipe on here just in case you want to try it yourself….

Ingredients
Pre-made pizza dough (unless you decide to make it yourself… I used pre made from a local grocery store)
1 can of pizza sauce
1 can refried beans (I used fat free)
Shredded cheese
Nacho cheese doritos
Hamburger
Lettuce
Tomatoes

So my pizza dough said to roll it out, top it with goodies, and bake.  In a saucepan I heated the can of refried beans with the pizza sauce to create the sauce.  The hamburger I cooked with some special seasonings and added taco seasoning as well.  So I spread the sauce on, added hamburger, and cheese.  For the first pizza, we put the doritos on top of the cheese and baked it.  On the second pizza, I forgot to put them on before baking, so I didn’t add them until the very end , and I think it turned out fine as well…. so either way works.  Cook the dough for the amount of time the package says, take out and top with lettuce and tomato.  Next time I think I will add olives, and serve with sour cream and/or ranch.

I’m sure there are dozens of different combinations for this, but considering I’ve never had a taco pizza before, I think it turned out really well.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Taco pizza

  1. Marcos Gonzales

    October 1, 2010 at 4:46 pm

    Seems like you had some decent taco pizza. Might going to try it some time myself. Besides, it is a good way to try and make new things. It can be really a joy when it all turns out as it did for you guys. And as you see, you learn of it as well. next time will be even better.

     

Leave a Reply

 
